Acerca de

Odoo image and text block

Ciudad Soil and Water Conservation District

The Ciudad Soil and Water Conservation District, a political subdivision of the state of New Mexico, promotes the conservation, improvement and responsible use of the natural resources on the rural and urban lands within its boundaries, including control and prevention of soil erosion; prevention of sediment and floodwater damage; furthering the conservation, development, beneficial application and proper disposal of water; promoting the use of impounded water for recreation, propagation of fish and wildlife, irrigation, and for urban and industrial needs; and, by the application of those measures, conserving and developing the natural resources of the state, providing for flood control, preserving wildlife, protecting the tax base, and promoting the health, safety and general welfare of the people of New Mexico.

Land and Water Summit

The Land and Water Summit was created in 1986 by the Xeriscape Council of New Mexico. Created to bring together design professionals, construction and management companies, agencies, farmers, artists, teachers, hydrologists, ranchers, climatologists, wildlife advocates, homeowners, and policy makers to find sustainable ways to protect and share our state’s water and resources, the event is now hosted by Ciudad Soil and Water Conservation District.

Land and Water Summit planning committee members are experts on water conservation, promoting the use of native and arid-adapted plants, rainwater harvesting, utilizing low impact/recycled building materials and landscaping/ irrigation methods. The group’s primary goal is to educate the public about resource conservation and best practices for improving local landscapes.

Planning Committee

Kali Bronson, Chair

Bernalillo County

Richard Perce, Vice Chair

Albuquerque Bernalillo County Water Utility Authority

Dave Gatterman, Secretary

Southern Sandoval County Arroyo Flood Control Authority

Marian Wrage, Treasurer

City of Rio Rancho

Patrick Chavez

Albuquerque Metropolitan Arroyo Flood Control Authority

Steve Glass

Ciudad Soil and Water Conservation District

Megan Marsee

Bernalillo County

George Radnovich

Sites Southwest